Skip to main content

FAQ

Why is Commit to Kids needed?

According to research, 1 in 10 Canadians reported being sexually victimized before they turned 18.i In the majority of child sexual abuse cases, the offender was known to the child.ii

Child-serving organizations need to better understand the issue of sexual abuse beyond common duty to report training. Building employees’/volunteers’ awareness of child sexual abuse and how they can help mitigate this risk is the first step in protecting children in your care.

What is child sexual abuse?

Child sexual abuse includes a wide range of behaviours and situations — offences can range from one-time occurrences to multiple experiences; from one offender to multiple offenders; with or without the use of violence. Offences can also vary from non-contact sexual offences, such as voyeurism or exposing a child to pornography, to hands-on sexual offences.

For more in-depth material, download our free resource, Child Sexual Abuse: It is Your Business.

Who sexually abuses children?

Individuals who sexually abuse children usually know their victims. This includes family members or someone in the child’s circle of trust (e.g., a coach, a family friend, or an educator). Offenders come from all walks of life and cannot be picked out or identified by appearance. It is essential to pay attention to behaviours and situations that present risk rather than focus on an individual’s character.

What is grooming?

Grooming is a method used by offenders that involves building trust with a child and the adults around a child in an effort to gain access to and time alone with the child. Offenders groom children in order to manipulate them into becoming a co-operating participant, reducing the likelihood of a disclosure and increasing the likelihood that the child will repeatedly return to the offender.

Grooming is really the start of the abuse process, and for many individuals who have experienced sexual abuse, the grooming was just as, if not more, damaging than the sexual contact parts of the abuse.

Do children always tell someone about their abuse?

The most common response to child sexual abuse is silence. Children often avoid telling someone about sexual abuse because they are confused about what has happened and are afraid they won’t be believed or worry about what a disclosure may do to their life.

Disclosure is often a process rather than a one-time event. While full disclosure happens occasionally, information is typically provided bit by bit or through hints and signs. This process may span hours, weeks, months, or even years. If the process is interrupted, discouraged, or shut down, the sexual abuse may not be fully revealed until adulthood — if at all.

Where do I report my concerns about a child being sexually abused?

When a person becomes aware that a child may be or has been abused, there is a legal and ethical responsibility to take action. The legal responsibility comes from child welfare legislation within each province and territory and may also be a duty of a person’s profession or workplace. The responsibility to report means that a person who has knowledge or information that a child is or might be at risk must report it to someone:

  • If the information relates to potential abuse of a child by the child’s parent or guardian, the person must report it to child welfare or police.
  • If the concern involves potential abuse by any other person, the individual should report it to the child’s parent or guardian and may also be obligated to report it to child welfare and/or police if the person is aware that the child’s parent/guardian has not or will not take action to protect the child.

Reporting information about potential child sexual abuse allows an an authority, like child welfare or police, to determine whether it is necessary to investigate, and/or allows the child’s parent(s) or guardian(s) to proactively take steps to protect their child.


  1. Afifi TO, MacMillan HL, Boyle M, et al. “Child abuse and mental disorders in Canada.” Canadian Medical Association Journal. 2014; 186(9): E324-32.
  2. Beaupre, Pascale and Cotter, Adam. 2014 “Police-reported sexual offences against children and youth in Canada, 2012.” Juristat. Statistics Canada.

Skip to main content

FAQ

Pourquoi Priorité Jeunesse?

Les statistiques nous apprennent qu’un Canadien sur dix déclare avoir été victime de violence sexuelle avant l’âge de 18 ansi. Dans la majorité des cas d’abus pédosexuel, l’enfant connaissait déjà l’abuseurii.

Les organismes de services à l’enfance doivent mieux comprendre la problématique des abus sexuels et savoir que la prévention ne se limite pas au rappel des obligations en matière de signalement. Pour protéger les enfants qui leur sont confiés, ils doivent d’abord et avant tout informer leurs employés et leurs bénévoles sur les abus pédosexuels et le rôle qu’ils ont à jouer pour réduire les risques.

Qu’est-ce qu’un abus pédosexuel?

L’abus pédosexuel englobe un vaste éventail de comportements et de situations; il peut s’agir d’un acte ponctuel ou répété, faire intervenir un ou plusieurs abuseurs et être commis avec ou sans violence. On distingue aussi les abus sexuels sans contact (voyeurisme, montrer de la pornographie à un enfant, etc.) et les abus sexuels corporels.

Pour explorer le sujet plus en profondeur, téléchargez notre ressource gratuite Les abus pédosexuels : ça vous concerne.

Qui sont les abuseurs d’enfants?

Les abuseurs d’enfants connaissent le plus souvent leurs victimes. Certains ont un lien de parenté avec l’enfant ou font partie de son cercle de confiance (p. ex. entraîneur, ami de la famille, enseignant). Les abuseurs d’enfants viennent de tous les milieux et n’ont pas d’apparence distinctive. Il faut absolument être à l’affût des comportements et des situations qui comportent des risques, plutôt que de juger une personne à l’impression qu’elle dégage.

Qu’est-ce que le conditionnement?

Le conditionnement est une technique utilisée par les abuseurs d’enfants pour gagner la confiance d’un enfant et des adultes de son entourage dans le but de pouvoir côtoyer l’enfant et passer du temps seul à seul avec lui. L’objectif est de manipuler l’enfant pour l’amener à coopérer de plein gré afin de réduire les risques de dénonciation et de gagner sa fidélité.

Le conditionnement marque donc le début du processus d’abus, et de nombreuses victimes d’abus sexuel disent que le conditionnement leur a fait autant de mal, sinon plus, que les contacts sexuels qu’ils ont subis aux mains de l’abuseur.

Est-ce qu’un enfant finira toujours par dévoiler un abus?

La réaction la plus courante des enfants aux abus pédosexuels est le silence. Les enfants se gardent souvent de parler parce qu’ils ne comprennent pas ce qui s’est passé et craignent de ne pas être crus ou d’avoir des ennuis à cause de leur dévoilement.

Le dévoilement d’un abus se fait rarement d’un seul coup; il prend généralement la forme d’un processus. Il peut arriver qu’un enfant raconte tout, mais la plupart laisseront échapper l’information au compte-gouttes, à travers une série d’indices et de signes. Ce processus peut prendre des heures, des semaines, des mois ou même des années. Si le processus est interrompu, découragé ou arrêté, l’enfant pourrait ne pas dévoiler la totalité des faits avant l’âge adulte, ou les taire à jamais.

À quoi dois-je m’adresser pour signaler des informations concernant une situation d’abus pédosexuel?

Toute personne qui apprend qu’un enfant est peut-être ou a été victime d’abus est légalement et moralement tenue d’agir. Cette obligation découle des lois sur la protection de l’enfance en vigueur dans chaque province ou territoire. Certaines personnes peuvent également être tenues de signaler par leur employeur ou leur code de déontologie. L’obligation de signaler signifie que toute personne au courant qu’un enfant est ou pourrait être en danger doit le signaler à quelqu’un.

  • Si les informations se rapportent à une situation potentielle d’abus d’un enfant par l’un de ses parents ou tuteurs, il faut les communiquer à la protection de l’enfance ou à la police.
  • Si les informations se rapportent à une situation potentielle d’abus d’un enfant par une autre personne, il faut les communiquer à un parent ou tuteur de l’enfant, et peut-être aussi à la protection de l’enfance ou à la police si l’on sait que le parent ou tuteur n’a rien fait ou ne compte rien faire pour protéger l’enfant.

Le fait de signaler des informations à propos d’une situation potentielle d’abus pédosexuel permet aux autorités (p. ex. la police ou la protection de l’enfance) de déterminer s’il est nécessaire de mener une enquête ou permet aux parents ou aux tuteurs d’agir en amont pour protéger leur enfant.


  1. TO Afifi, HL MacMillan, M Boyle et coll. (2014). « Child abuse and mental disorders in Canada », Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne, vol. 186, no 9, p. E 324-32.
  2. Pascale Beaupré et Adam Cotter (2014). « Les infractions sexuelles commises contre les enfants et les jeunes déclarées par la police au Canada, 2012 », Juristat. Statistique Canada.