SEX OFFENDERS

Individuals who choose to work with children and end up sexually abusing them typically fall into two categories:

  • Those who deliberately seek access to children to satisfy their deviant sexual interests. This behaviour is calculated and purposeful.
  • Those who have emotional and/or psychological problems rather than deviant sexual interests. This may start with a friendship between the child and adult that becomes distorted and results in inappropriate interactions and sexually abusive behaviour. The adult may not have any prior history of sexually offending, and may not seek out involvement in a child-serving organization with the intent to access victims and offend.
DID YOU KNOW?
Some Sex Offenders:
  • Specifically seek out child-serving organizations to gain easier access to children.
  • Are ‘opportunistic’ — they may not initially seek to abuse children, but do so if the situation presents itself.
  • Hold distorted perceptions of their relationships and physical contact with children. They may believe that a child is sexually interested in them and that sexual contact is harmless because the child seemingly initiates, wants, and enjoys such contact. They do not see their offending as forced or coercive.
  • Engage in inappropriate behaviour that is sexually motivated but may not be considered criminal. For example, an adult may create opportunities where children must change in front of him/her.
  • Deny their intent to groom a child.
  • Initiate personal contact outside the organization (befriend the family, offer the child a job, etc.).
Offenders intentionally build relationships with the adults around a child or seek out a child who may have fewer adults in his/her life. This ensures that the offender’s time with the child is welcomed and encouraged.

Les délinquants sexuels

Les personnes qui choisissent de travailler avec des enfants et qui en viennent à leur faire subir des abus sexuels se divisent généralement en deux catégories :

  • Celles qui veulent être en contact avec des enfants pour assouvir leurs déviances sexuelles. Il s’agit d’une conduite délibérée.
  • Celles qui ont des troubles affectifs ou psychologiques plutôt que des déviances sexuelles. Par exemple, une amitié entre un enfant et un adulte pourrait prendre un mauvais tournant et donner lieu à une relation inappropriée et à des actes d’inconduite sexuelle. L’adulte n’aura peut-être aucun antécédent d’inconduite sexuelle et ne cherchera pas nécessairement à passer par un organisme de services à l’enfance pour être en contact avec des enfants et abuser d'eux.
LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?
CERTAINS délinquants sexuels :
  • Passent par des organismes de services à l’enfance pour avoir plus facilement accès à des enfants.
  • Sont « opportunistes » : ils ne chercheront pas nécessairement à commettre des abus, mais ils le feront si l’occasion se présente.
  • Ont une perception faussée de leurs rapports et de leurs contacts physiques avec des enfants; ils croient qu’un enfant éprouve une attirance sexuelle envers eux et que les contacts sexuels sont inoffensifs parce que l’enfant semble initier, souhaiter et aimer ce genre de contacts. Ils n’estiment pas que leurs gestes sont forcés ou coercitifs.
  • Adoptent des comportements inappropriés dont le motif est à caractère sexuel, mais qui ne sont pas jugés criminels; par exemple : créer des occasions où les enfants doivent se déshabiller devant eux.
  • Nient leur intention de conditionner un enfant.
  • Initient des contacts personnels hors du cadre de l’organisme (se lient d’amitié avec la famille, offrent un emploi à l’enfant, etc.).
Les pédocriminels établissent intentionnellement des liens avec les adultes de l’entourage d’un enfant, ou cherchent des enfants qui ont peu d’adultes dans leur entourage. Ils s’assurent ainsi que leur présence aux côtés de l’enfant sera bien vue et encouragée.